Company analysis in the real estate fund industry

Email newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly email newsletter to stay up to date with the latest news, articles and stories from my website:

Subscribe

In one of my previous blogs, I described the problems with analyzing financial statements of real estate companies. My central message was that purely quantitative earnings-based balance sheet analysis does not provide a robust indication of the value of the company and cash-oriented ratios, dividends and qualitative observations should be given preference.

Similar to my blog on construction companies, I now apply the suggestions I presented then to the semi-annual reports of Austria's listed real estate funds.

For this purpose, I compare some key figures with the performance on the stock market and interpret the correlation.

Ratios CA Immo AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Ratios S Immo AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Ratios Immofinanz AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Looking at the sets of key figures above, the following statements can be made:

  1. Compared to other shares, the fluctuation range of real estate shares is very low.

Immofinanz suffered the strongest loss in the observation period between HY 2019 and HY 2020 with around 50%. This is certainly painful for investors, but it roughly corresponds to the minus of the ATX. This shows that other stocks lost significantly more in the admittedly extraordinary comparison period.

  1. There is little correlation between earnings figures and share price

Looking at the above figures, it is confirmed that the market does not follow the results of any of the companies, neither with nor without taking into account the valuation result.

  1. Dividends are a (relatively) good indicator

Regarding dividends, it can be said that for Immofinanz and S Immo the years with the highest dividend yields were also the best for share prices. For CA Immo, dividend yields were more balanced, as was the share price. Thus, if one is forced to perform a quantitative company valuation, the use of a dividend discounting model seems to me advisable.

  1. A correlation between qualitative factors and share price is not discernible

In contrast to the construction companies, there is no discernible correlation between qualitative factors such as management changes or the message sent out and the share price. It is possible, however, that this is simply due to the public takeover battle that the companies have been fighting in recent years. It will be interesting to see how this issue develops in the coming years.

  1. A fundamental decoupling of book value and market value does not seem possible

I must admit that I was particularly puzzled by the narrow range of fluctuation from book to market value. For example, the ratio market value (defined as market capitalization + liabilities) / book value fluctuates de facto between 120% and 130% for all stocks during the observation period.

In summary, three key messages can be derived.

Firstly; if a company valuation is necessary, a dividend discounting model appears to be more practicable than a classic DCF method. Dividends provide a better basis for valuation than earnings.

Secondly; if it is purely an investment decision, the best strategy seems to be to wait until one of the real estate stocks has reached the lower end of the range and then to buy and sell again when it has reached the upper end.

Thirdly; the meaningfulness of real estate company financial statements remains very limited relative to financial statements in other industries.

Unternehmensanalyse bei Immobilienfonds

E-Mail-Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren monatlichen E-Mail-Newsletter, um über die neuesten Nachrichten, Artikel und Geschichten von MeinWeb auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben:

Abonnieren

In einem meiner früheren Blogs habe ich die Probleme bei der Analyse von Jahresabschlüssen von Immobilienunternehmen beschrieben. Meine zentrale Aussage war, dass eine rein quantitative ergebnisbasierte Bilanzanalyse keine belastbare Aussage zum Wert des Unternehmens zulässt und cashorientierten Kennzahlen, Dividenden und qualitativen Beobachtungen der Vorzug gegeben werden sollte.

Ähnlich wie in meinem Blog zu den Baufirmen wende ich meine damals präsentierten Vorschläge nun auf die Halbjahresberichte von Österreichs börsennotierten Immobilienfonds an.

Hierfür stelle ich einige Kennzahlen der Wertentwicklung an der Börse gegenüber und interpretiere den Zusammenhang.

Ratios CA Immo AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Ratios S Immo AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Ratios Immofinanz AG, Source Basic Data: Vienna Stock Exchange Website

Betrachtet man die Kennzahlensets oberhalb, lassen sich folgende Aussagen treffen:

  1. Im Vergleich zu anderen Aktien sind ist die Schwankungsbreite von Immobilienaktien sehr gering

Den stärksten Verlust im Beobachtungszeitraum erlitt Immofinanz zwischen HJ 2019 und HJ 2020 mit rund 50%. Dies ist für Anleger sicher schmerzhaft, doch entspricht dies in etwa dem Minus des ATX. Hieraus ergibt sich, dass andere Aktien im zugegeben außergewöhnlichen Vergleichszeitraum deutlich mehr verloren haben.

  1. Es ist klein Zusammenhang zwischen Ergebniskennzahlen und Aktienkurs erkennbar

Betrachtet man die obigen Zahlen so bestätigt sich die Aussage, dass der Mark bei keinem der Unternehmen den Ergebnissen, weder mit noch ohne Berücksichtigung des Bewertungsergebnisses folgt.

  1. Dividenden sind ein (relativ) guter Indikator

Hinsichtlich Dividenden ist zu sagen, dass bei Immofinanz und S Immo die Jahre mit den höchsten Dividendenrenditen auch die besten für die Aktienkurse waren. Bei CA Immo waren die Dividendenrenditen ausgeglichener, ebenso der Aktienkurs. Wenn man also zu einer quantitativen Unternehmensbewertung gezwungen ist, erscheint mir die Anwendung eines dividend discounting model empfehlenswert.

  1. Ein Zusammenhang zwischen qualitativen Faktoren und Aktienkurs ist nicht erkennbar

Anders als bei den Baufirmen lässt sich kein Zusammenhang zwischen qualitativen Faktoren wie Managementwechseln oder ausgesendeter Message und Aktienkurs erkennen. Möglicherweise hängt dies aber auch schlicht mit der öffentlich ausgetragenen wechselseitigen Übernahmeschlacht an, die die Unternehmen in den vergangenen Jahren austrugen. Es wird interessant sein zu beobachten wie sich das Thema in den kommenden Jahren entwickelt.

  1. Eine fundamentale Entkoppelung von Buchwert und Marktwert scheint nicht möglich

Ich muss zugeben, dass mich vor allem die enge Schwankungsbreite von Buch- zu Marktwert verwundert hat. So schwankt die Kennzahl Marktwert (definiert als Marktkapitalisierung + Verbindlichkeiten) / Buchwert bei allen Titeln im Beobachtungszeitraum de facto zwischen 120% und 130%.

Zusammenfassend lassen sich drei Kernaussagen ableiten.

Erstens; sofern eine Unternehmensbewertung notwendig ist, erscheint ein dividend discounting model praktikabler als ein klassisches DCF Verfahren.  Dividenden geben eine bessere Beurteilungsbasis ab als Ergebnisse.

Zweitens; sofern es rein um eine Anlageentscheidung geht, scheint die beste Strategie darin zu bestehen zu warten, bis einer der Immobilientitel am unteren Ende der Bandbreite angekommen ist und dann zu kaufen und wieder zu verkaufen, wenn er das obere Ende erreicht hat.

Drittens; die Aussagekraft der Abschlüsse von Immobilienunternehmen bleibt relativ zu den Abschlüssen in anderen Branchen sehr beschränkt.